Hello, Summer (and Italy)

Canal Grande Chiesa della Salute e Dogana dal ponte dell Accademia

So this is exciting. This summer I will be studying abroad in Venice, Italy, land of the 20 million tourists. I don’t speak  a word of Italian (YET), but I’m looking forward to learning it. As fast as possible. Also on my to-do list: avoiding tourist rip offs, avoiding tourists (impossible, I know), and pretending I’m not a tourist. (You see, I loathe tourism.)

Anyways, given:

a) my propensity to sometimes neglect this blog (sorry)

b) the fact that Venice is gorgeous and full of history which is often overshadowed by its tourism industry, and

c) that Venice is probably on the eventual travel checklists of most normal individuals (if not — what’s wrong with you?),

I will be blogging about my experience at least once a week, posting photos and hopefully providing some tips on how to see the real Venice, not just the side reserved exclusively for unwitting, non-Italian-speaking Western tourists. (Disclaimer: this is contingent on whether or not I can convince anyone that I’m not a tourist…which is partially untrue, but I am there to study! So it’s, like, different, right?)

See you back here in a week or so. Ciao!

11 thoughts on “Hello, Summer (and Italy)

  1. How lucky you are to spend the summer in Venice! I spent a weekend there while I was studying in Italy myself (in Milan to be specific) and to this day it still is the most magical place I have ever been to (and I live in Paris). Enjoy your time there!

  2. No touristy shots or stories, please! 🙂 Seriously, you’ll avoid them easily in the back streets. Just get to know your locals, eating and shopping there, and before you know it you’ll be one of the ‘in’ crowd. Have fun and make me envious (no Venice trip for me this year 😦 ). 🙂

  3. You are so lucky to be traveling to Venice and taking in all the culture for the summer. I hope to save up and take a trip to the home country. Thanks for sharing and enjoy your summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

