White Nails

I had never considered the idea of using white nail polish until I saw my friend wearing it a few months ago, and my jaw dropped. It looked incredible. It takes a bit of work to get the coats to look even, but the result is a nail that is chic, clean, polished, and unexpected. If you’re fair-skinned like me, it will also make you look just a tiny bit more tan, which is always a plus.

This is a perfect shade for year-round, but especially the summer. It is incredibly elegant and looks amazing on everyone. I’m pretty sure I’ve found a new favorite nail polish — and I’m planning on stocking up on a few more bottles from Sephora for the fall season.

The key to making this look work is having a manicure that is opaque and even. White nail polish shows flaws more easily than other colors and it is more difficult to get a uniformly opaque coat. I had to do several coats on my nails (I think anywhere between 2-4), and you’ll definitely want to use a top and base coat to keep it shiny and prevent chipping. Also try sealing the edge of the nail with a swipe of the top coat to avoid unnecessary touch-ups.

I used Sephora by OPI’s nail polish in “A-ha! Moment,” $9.50, sephora.com.

What do you think of white nails? Have you tried the color before, or plan to in the future?

5 thoughts on “White Nails

  1. Like you, I would have never thought to do this. But seeing your nails, it’s making me think that I might give it a try as well.

    Thanks for the info!

    xo,
    Tracy

Leave a Reply

